Governor Gavin Newsom has signed SB 616 into law, expanding California's existing paid sick leave regulations, set to potentially take effect on January 1, 2024. This law will apply to virtually all employees who work in California for 30 days or more in a year. You might be wondering about the changes, and from what we've gathered, it appears that the previous three days or 24 hours of sick time will be increased to 40 hours or five days. To help you prepare for these upcoming changes, here are five steps you can take.
1. Make sure that your local PSL ordinances are applicable to your organization, and determine if they are preempted or if they will remain unaffected.
2. Update your sick leave policies, employee handbooks, and training materials to ensure compliance.
3. Provide training for managers and supervisors regarding the heightened PSL allotment for employees and the alterations in carry-over and accrual limits that impact their team.
4. Ensure your human resources and benefits specialists are well-informed about these adjustments to facilitate employees' accurate PSL accrual. Verify that you are correctly carrying over and capping the PSL entitlements for employees.
5. Discuss the new law with your company's payroll provider to confirm the accuracy of accrual and frontloading provisions and ensure that wage statements correctly display each employee's entitled PSL.
We hope this information has been helpful. As always, reach out to us if you need more assistance with this or anything else. Contact us at 949.900.6977 or1.833.FIRMHRO and email@example.com